We got up pretty late this morning.  Penny will stay in bed as long as you let her.  Since I went to bed so late the night before, I figured there was no hurt in sleeping in.   I turned on TV and we watched cartoons.

After we finally got up, I got showered and dressed.  As is Penny’s habit if we get up late, she will come in the bathroom and do her business on her piddle pad.

We went to the kitchen and I got her something to eat.  Since it was so late, I decided to fix something for lunch instead of breakfast.  There was some left-over fried rice, so I “re-fried” it to heat it up.  I got a spoon and headed to my cave with a small bowl of rice.  I went back in the kitchen later to get the rest of the rice.   I brought it in my cave and set it on my desk.  I went back to the kitchen to get a glass of water.

While in the kitchen, I took a moment clean up and put the few things away that I had pulled out to prepare my simple lunch.  While in there, it occurred to me that 1) I didn’t see Penny – she usually follows me everywhere;   2) I didn’t even hear Penny’s little bell – the bell I bought just for keeping up with her;   3) It suddenly hit me that Penny discovered about a week ago that she is able to jump up in my deskchair.

MY FRIED RICE !

I wheeled around the corner, down the hall and into my cave.  There was Penny, standing square in the middle of myrice bowl desk.  She was just spitting out a piece of onion on my mouse pad.  And she didn’t even act like she had been caught doing something she wasn’t supposed to be doing.

I set Penny on the floor and pushed my chair under the desk.  I gently chastised her since I was partly to blame, I guess, for having left my deskchair where she could jump up in it.  I went back to the kitchen for my water, then returned to my desk and sat down to eat the rest of my rice.

After I finished eating, Penny wanted to get in my lap.  I picked her up and she wanted to give me kisses.

“No, no kisses,” I said to her.  “Those aren’t even kisses of remorse – you want more rice!”

I guess next time, I’ll have to make sure and ask that onions be omitted from my order…

